fbpx Skip to main content

The World Cup 2022 Begins

The World Cup 2022 Begins

The FIFA World Cup is an international football tournament that takes place every four years. It is the most widely-watched sporting event in the world, with billions of people tuning in to watch the games. The first World Cup was held in 1930, and it has been held every four years since then, with the exception of 1942 and 1946, when it was not held due to the outbreak of World War II. The World Cup is contested by 32 teams, who qualify by winning their respective continental tournaments. The teams are divided into eight groups of four, and they play each other in a round-robin format. The top two teams from each group advance to the knockout stage, where they compete in a single-elimination tournament until only one team remains. That team is crowned the World Cup champion. Brazil has won the most World Cups, with five titles, followed by Italy and Germany with four each. England has won the World Cup once in 1966!  This years World Cup will be held in Qatar, the final will take place on Sunday 18th December 2022.

So why not grab a ball, put on your favourite studded boots and celebrate the beginning of The World Cup with the following activities:

Activity Ideas:

  • Enjoy our special World Cup 2022 activity book – here
  • Have a football reminiscence session with our activity – here
  • Have a penalty shoot out game with our exercise session – here